Will I Lose My Driver’s License if I Get a DUI in New Jersey?

Getting a DUI is a serious offense in the state of New Jersey. There are many consequences for driving under the influence. The consequences depend on a number of factors including age, blood alcohol content or BAC, and if you have any previous offenses. Read more below to find out what penalties you may face after receiving a DUI, such as whether you will lose your driver’s license, and contact our Camden County DUI Attorney for assistance with your case.

Can I lose my driver’s license after a DUI in New Jersey?

Yes, you will lose your license for a period of time after a DUI in New Jersey. The more offenses you have, the younger you are, and the higher your blood alcohol content was at the time of your arrest will increase the amount of time it is taken away for.

It is important to note if your BAC is .10% or higher your charges will increase significantly.

Outlined below are the penalties for each DUI offense in New Jersey:

First Offense

After your first offense, you will forfeit your licenser license will be forfeited for 30 days. In addition to this penalty, you will also face the following:

  • Spend 48 hours at a New Jersey IDRC
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • $500 fine
  • Install an ignition interlock device for up to 6 months at your own expense

Second Offense

The second offense increases the amount of time your license will be suspended. For the second offense, your license will be suspended for two years. You will also have to abide by the other penalties:

  • Spend 48 hours at a New Jersey IDRC
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • $1000 fine
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Install and use an ignition interlock device

Third Offense

The third offense will also have you lose your license for two years. There will also be more fines, including:

  • Spend 48 hours in a New Jersey IDRC
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • $1000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • At your own cost, install and use an ignition interlock device

The charges above are put in place to prevent driving under the influence and repeat offenses. However, if you find yourself facing any of the above charges for a DUI in New Jersey, you will need the help of an experienced Camden County Criminal Defense Attorney. Contact our firm today to get the assistance you need.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Why Might a DUI Breath Test Be Wrong in New Jersey?
  •  What is New Jersey’s Implied Consent Law?
  •  Why Should I Avoid Social Media After a DUI in New Jersey?