This Fourth of July, there is a very good chance that you will be driving to visit friends and family to take part in fireworks, cookouts, pool parties, and more. This is all good fun, however, you must not make the mistake of driving under the influence of alcohol. Of course, many people make this mistake every year, and without an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney on their side, they end up paying for it. Please continue reading to learn more about the consequences of receiving a DUIs in New Jersey and how our firm can fight those charges. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I get my first DUI in New Jersey?
If you are someone who receives a DUI in New Jersey, even if it is only your first offense, you can expect to face very serious consequences that may affect your life for years to come. The potential penalties for a first-offense DUI in New Jersey are as follows:
- You will have to forfeit your license for 30 days.
- You may have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
- You may go to jail for 30 days.
- You may face a $500 fine.
- You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for at least 3 months, though no more than 6 months.
What happens if this is my second DUI offense in New Jersey?
For a second DUI offense in New Jersey, you can expect to face even harsher penalties, including obtaining a criminal record. The consequences of a second DUI are as follows:
- You may spend up to 90 days in jail.
- You may have to pay a $1,000 fine
- You will most likely lose your license for 2 years.
- You may have to spend 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC
- You will have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund, a $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund, and use the ignition interlock device for several months.
Will I lose my license forever if I get a third DUI in New Jersey?
If this is your third DUI in New Jersey, you are looking at very serious penalties, however, with a knowledgeable attorney at your side, you may be able to salvage your future driving privileges. The penalties for a third DUI in New Jersey are as follows:
- Up to 90 days in jail.
- You may lose your license for at least 2 years.
- You will have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC.
- You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device
- You will have to pay a potential $1,000 fine, as well as a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund, and $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.