What Will Happen to My Commercial Driver’s License After a DUI?

truck driving highway

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is taken as a serious matter in the state of New Jersey. What is viewed as even more unacceptable is if this occurred while you were operating a commercial motor vehicle. With this, the fate of your commercial driver’s license is left to be questioned. Read on to discover what happens to your commercial license after you are charged with a DUI and how a seasoned Camden County DUI attorney at DeMarco & Associates can help you with a legal strategy.

What is considered a commercial DUI in the state of New Jersey?

Put simply, the blood alcohol content (BAC) level for a DUI for a standard driver is 0.08 percent or higher. But commercial drivers are held to higher standards. Thus, the BAC level for a DUI is 0.04 percent or higher.

What happens to my commercial driver’s license after I receive a DUI?

If you receive a first-offense DUI, your commercial driver’s license will likely be revoked for one year. In addition, your standard driver’s license will be revoked for three to 12 months. And even though you will receive your commercial driver’s license once again, potential employers may think twice about hiring you when looking at your work history.

As for a second-offense DUI, your commercial driver’s license will likely be permanently revoked. With this, your standard driver’s license will be revoked for two years. And with a permanent revocation of your commercial driver’s license, you will ultimately be losing your livelihood.

Notably, these penalties toward your commercial driver’s license apply regardless of whether you were operating a commercial vehicle or a standard vehicle at the time you were pulled over on suspicion of intoxicated driving.

What else will happen after I receive a commercial DUI?

Along with your revoked commercial and standard driver’s license, you will likely face subsequent penalties. They may include, but may not be limited to, the following:

  • First-offense commercial DUI:
    • Jail time for up to 30 days.
    • Fines of up to $400.
    • Attendance of the intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC) for up to 48 hours.
  • First-offense commercial DUI with a BAC of 0.10 percent or higher:
    • Incarceration for up to 30 days.
    • Fines of up to $500.
    • Attendance of the IDRC for up to 48 hours.
  • Second-offense commercial DUI:
    • Incarceration for up to 90 days.
    • Fines of up to $1,000.
    • Attendance of the IDRC for up to 48 hours.
    • Community service for up to 30 days.

It is without question that a commercial DUI can have life-altering consequences. This is why, if you are facing any of the above, you require the assistance of a competent Camden County criminal defense attorney. We will do everything in our power to reduce or altogether eliminate these penalties. Give us a call when you can.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Does New Jersey Consider a DUI a Felony?
  •  What Do I Do If My Child Is Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?
  •  Can I Get a Conditional License in New Jersey After a DUI?