What Will Happen if I Get a Labor Day DWI in New Jersey?

guy opening beer behind the wheel of a car

New Jersey takes DWIs very seriously. If you were charged with a DWI this Labor Day, it is in your best interest to contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to discuss your case.

What will happen if I get a DWI in New Jersey?

Even if this is your first offense DWI, you may still face severe consequences. Some of the risks you may face for a first-offense DWI in New Jersey are as follows:

  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • Will will have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • You may face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $500 fine
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 3 and 6 months, at your own cost

It is also important to note that in New Jersey if your blood alcohol concentration is .10% or above at the time you were pulled over, your penalties will be more severe.

What are the consequences for a second offense DWI in New Jersey?

For a second DWI charge, you risk even harsher consequences because you will now be considered a repeat offender. You may face the following:

  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You will face a $1,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use an ignition interlock device, at your own cost
  • You may lose your license for 2 years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

What are the penalties for a third DWI in New Jersey?

The consequences of a third DWI can have long-term negative impacts on you and your future. You may lose your license forever. If you have been charged for the third time with a DWI, it is critical that you retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. Without an attorney on your side, you may also face the following results:

  • You will most likely face a $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You may lose your license for two years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • The use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Does New Jersey Consider a DUI a Felony?
  •  What Do I Do If My Child Is Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?
  •  Can I Get a Conditional License in New Jersey After a DUI?