What to Know About Theft Charges in New Jersey

What to Know About Theft Charges in New Jersey

Theft is a serious crime, with hefty penalties. But, what exactly is “theft”? The term is often confused with others, like “burglary,” “robbery,” “larceny,” and more. But, each of these terms has its own definition and penalties. Read on to learn more about how theft is defined in New Jersey and its associated charges.

How does New Jersey define theft?

New Jersey has very strict laws to punish those convicted of theft. Theft is used to describe generally nonviolent crimes where one individual deprives another of his or her property. Some examples of theft charges in New York can include, extortion, shoplifting, or theft by deception.

What are the penalties for shoplifting?

Shoplifting is one of the most common forms of theft. The penalties for shoplifting include:

  • Shoplifting merchandise with a total combined value of $200-$500 is a crime of the 4th degree and it comes with 18 months in jail and fines up to $10,000.
  • Shoplifting merchandise valued between $500 and $75,000 is a 3rd-degree charge and comes with jail time of 3-5 years and fines not exceeding $15,000.
  • Shoplifting merchandise valued over $75,000 is a crime of the second degree and comes with jail time of 5-10 years and fines not exceeding $150,000.

What are the penalties for other theft-related charges in New Jersey?

The penalties for theft-related charges in New Jersey are as follows:

  • Theft (Disorderly Persons Offense): Up to 6 months in jail and potential fines
  • Fourth Degree Theft (for property stolen worth more $200, though less than $500): Up to 18 months in jail, $10,000 fine, or double the amount of the victim’s loss
  • Third Degree Theft (for property stolen worth more than $500, though less than $75,000): Up to 5 years in prison, $15,000 fine, or double the amount of the victim’s loss
  • Second Degree Theft (for property stolen worth $75,000 or more, extortion, or theft of more than 1 kilogram or more of a controlled substance): Up to 10 years in prison, a potential $150,000 fine, or double the amount of the victim’s loss

New Jersey takes theft charges very seriously. As a result, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Reach out today to discuss your case with a dedicated attorney.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Driving Under the Influence of Drugs | What to Know
  •  Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New Jersey
  •  New Year’s Eve Sobriety Checkpoints in New Jersey