The night before Thanksgiving is known to be one of the rowdiest nights of the year. For many college students, this is their first time coming home from school, meaning they will all be home around the same time, excited to go out with friends. The same goes for adults who live away from home but come back to town to see their relatives around the holidays. As a result, the night before Thanksgiving is especially dangerous when it comes to DWIs. If you or a loved one receives a DWI charge, it is important to contact an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.
What if it is my First Offense?
When it comes to DWIs in New Jersey, your blood alcohol content (BAC) will impact the level of charges you receive. Additionally, your previous offenses play a role as well. If you are pulled over with a BAC between .08% and .09%, and this is your first DWI, you may face the following penalties:
- Up to 30 days of incarceration
- License suspension for 3 months
- A $1000 surcharge per year for 3 years
- A $250-$400 fine
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
- A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
If you are pulled over with a BAC of .10% or above, and this is your first DWI charge, you may face the following penalties:
- You will most likely lose your license for up to 45 days
- You may spend up to 30 days in jail
- You will most likely have to pay a fine between $250-$500
- You will have to spend between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 6 months and 1 year, at your own cost
What Measures Can I Take to Avoid a DWI?
Make sure to have a plan if you are going to consume alcohol. You should be able to access a ride share service or ask a sober friend or family member for a ride home. If you are pulled over and charged with a DWI, it is important to be compliant to avoid any further charges. For example, your charges may increase if you refuse a breathalyzer test.
If you or a loved one is charged with a DWI for the first time, it is important to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney. DWI charges are taken seriously in New Jersey and can have significant consequences. Reach out to our firm to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.