What if I am Pulled Over Driving Without a License?

What if I am Pulled Over Driving Without a License?

In New Jersey, a new law has been created regarding teen drivers. Teenagers who pass their road tests will not have to wait on line at the MVC to obtain their driver’s licenses. Instead, those who pass the road test will be able to use their validated permits as a temporary license. This has been done in order to cut down on crowds in the midst of the coronavirus pandemic. So, while some teens will technically be able to drive without an official driver’s license, the rest of us will still have to follow New Jersey’s license laws. In New Jersey, driving without a license is illegal, but there are a few different circumstances that carry vastly different penalties. Read on for more information regarding driving without a license in New Jersey and the penalties associated.

License not in Possession

Sometimes, we make mistakes. For example, if you leave the house in a rush, you may forget to grab your wallet on the way out. Halfway through the drive you may realize that your wallet and your license are still at home. If you are pulled over for driving without a license, but you do have a valid driver’s license, you may face a small fine.

Driving with a Suspended License

Driving with a suspended license is a very different story. If you have a suspended license, you likely engaged in some dangerous behavior. So, by driving with a suspended or revoked license, you are ignoring court orders, while simultaneously putting yourself and others on the road at risk. This is taken seriously. If you are pulled over and found driving with a suspended license, you may face the following penalties:

  • Individuals facing their first offense can be charged with a $500 fine as well as a license suspension for up to 6 months.
  • Those facing a second offense can be charged a $750 fine, an extended license suspension up to 6 more months, and possible jail time up to 5 days.
  • For third or subsequent offenders, they can face a $1000 fine, an additional license suspension up to 6 months, and possible jail time up to 10 days.

If you or a loved one is pulled over and found to be driving without a license, contact our skilled firm today. We will work to lower any fines and other penalties you are facing.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Probation Violations in New Jersey | What to Know
  •  Underage DWI in New Jersey | What to Know
  •  What if I am Pulled Over Driving Without a License?