What Happens to my car After a DUI Arrest in New Jersey?

If you are arrested for driving under the influence or drugs or alcohol, you may be wondering about what happens next. For example, one of the most commonly asked questions is: what happens to my car? Read on to learn more.

What happens to my car after a DUI arrest?

When you are arrested for a DUI, your car will be towed and impounded and you will be taken to jail for booking. You can reclaim your vehicle after a 12-hour impoundment period.

What are the consequences of a DUI in New Jersey?

New Jersey takes DUI charges very seriously. Notably, your charges are tiered, meaning they will change depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and your prior offenses. For example, if you are pulled over with a BAC of .08-.09%, and it is your first offense, you will likely face:

  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • Will will have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • You may face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $500 fine
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 3 and 6 months, at your own cost

It is important to note that if your BAC is .10% or higher, your charges will increase.

What are the penalties for a second offense DUI?

If you are arrested for a second DUI, you will be treated as a repeat offender. As a result:

  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You will face a $1,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use an ignition interlock device, at your own cost
  • You may lose your license for 2 years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

What are the penalties for a third DUI in New Jersey?

A third DUI arrest will have life-altering penalties, including:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You may lose your license for two years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • The use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

If you are facing DUI charges in New Jersey, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Reach out to our firm today to discuss your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Why Might a DUI Breath Test Be Wrong in New Jersey?
  •  What is New Jersey’s Implied Consent Law?
  •  Why Should I Avoid Social Media After a DUI in New Jersey?