In today’s society, cars are equipped with hands-free technology which allows motorists to use their cell phones without looking at their actual phones. Despite there is this new technology, motorists are still guilty of looking at their phones from time to time when they are behind the wheel. Driving while texting or talking on a cell phone is not only illegal but extremely dangerous as distracted driving can lead to catastrophic accidents and injuries. If you or a loved one has been issued a cell phone violation, contact a qualified Camden County Cell Phone Violation Attorney who can help defend your rights and interests. In addition, please continue reading to learn about the potential penalties for cell violations.
What are the penalties for texting while driving in New Jersey?
The state of New Jersey carries harsh consequences for cell phone violations. The penalties for a cell phone violation include the following:
- First offense. If this is a motorist’s first offense cell phone violation, they will face fines between $200 and $400.
- Second offense (within 10 years of the first violation). If this is a motorist’s second offense, they will be subjected to fines between $400 and $600.
- Third offense (within 10 years). If this is a motorist’s third or subsequent offense, they will be faced with fines between $600 and $800, a potential 90-day license suspension, and possibly have 3 points added to their license.
The penalties for cell phone violations such as texting while driving are significant in New Jersey. Motorists can be subjected to an array of fines, license suspension, and points added to their driving record. The repercussions of a cell phone violation can haunt a motorist for a long time. If they are subjected to points on their license, this can cause their auto insurance rates to increase. In addition, if they are subjected to license suspension, they may not be able to travel to and from work which could affect their ability to provide for their family and earn a living. Ultimately, the consequences can follow an individual for a long time. This is why it is imperative to consult with a Camden County cell phone violation attorney who helps prevent these harsh penalties. Furthermore, there are exceptions when it comes to cell phone violations. If a motorist has reason to believe their life is in imminent danger or they are trying to contact emergency services to report something such as a medical emergency, collision, or reckless driver, they can use their cell phone while they are behind the wheel.
In the unfortunate event that you have been issued a cell phone violation, reach out to one of our adept and trusted attorneys. Our firm is committed to helping our clients achieve a favorable conclusion. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf today to defend your rights and interests.