If you are someone who has recently been charged with endangering the welfare of a child in the state of New Jersey, you are most likely now very concerned about the potential penalties you may face. You should understand that these charges are taken very seriously in New Jersey, and oftentimes, people are wrongfully accused of these charges. For this very reason, you must continue reading this blog and reach out to our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about child endangerment laws in New Jersey and how our firm can protect you from the potential penalties you may face.
How is child endangerment defined in New Jersey law?
There are two primary statutes in New Jersey law regarding child endangerment, and they are as follows:
- “Any person having a legal duty for the care of a child who has assumed responsibility for the care of a child who engages in sexual conduct which would impair or debauch the morals of the child is guilty of a crime of the second degree. Any other person who engages in conduct or who causes harm as described in this paragraph to a child is guilty of a crime of the third degree.”
- “Any person having a legal duty for the care of a child or who has assumed responsibility for the care of a child who causes the child harm that would make the child an abused or neglected child as defined in R.S. 9:6-1, R.S. 9:6-3 and P.L. 1974, c. 119, § 1 is guilty of a crime of the second degree. Any other person who engages in conduct or who causes harm as described in this paragraph to a child is guilty of a crime of the third degree.”
What are the penalties for a child endangerment conviction in the state of New Jersey?
If you are someone who has been charged with child endangerment, you risk spending years behind bars. This can be extremely unfair, as we all make mistakes, and people do not deserve to have their lives taken out from under them for making a simple mistake. That is why our New Jersey criminal defense attorney will work to fight your charges to help ensure you do not face the following penalties for endangering the welfare of a child in New Jersey:
- Third-Degree: You may go to prison for up to 5 years.
- Second-Degree: You may go to prison for up to 10 years.
- First-Degree: You may spend 20 years in state prison and face a $250,000 fine.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.