What Happens if I am Charged With Driving Under the Influence With a CDL in NJ?

What Happens if I am Charged With Driving Under the Influence With a CDL in NJ?

If you are someone who has recently received a DWI while you were behind the wheel of a commercial vehicle, you are facing very serious consequences. Of course, you will face standard DWI consequences, however, you will also have your livelihood on the line, making these charges all the more potentially damaging. That is why if you are now facing a CDL DWI, you must read on and speak with our seasoned New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about CDL DWIs, the consequences of receiving a CDL DWI, and how our firm can help you fight those consequences, every step of the way.

What are the consequences of a first-offense CDL DWI in New Jersey?

You must first understand that the bar is far higher when it comes to receiving DWIs with a commercial driver’s license in New Jersey. Without a commercial license, you will face DWI charges for having a Blood Alcohol Content of .08% or higher. That being said, with a commercial license, you can be charged with a DWI for a BAC of just .04%. If you are charged with a DWI with a CDL in New Jersey for the first time, you will most likely face the following consequences:

  • You will lose your standard driver’s license for 3 months
  • You will lose your commercial driver’s license for one year
  • You will have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • You may go to jail for up to 30 days
  • You may face fines of up to $400

If you were arrested for a CDL DWI with a BAC higher than .10%, you are looking at a $500 fine, a one-year standard license suspension, a one-year CDL suspension, 30 days of jail time, and up to 48 hours in the IDRC.

What happens if I get a second DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?

If you are charged with a second CDL DWI in New Jersey, there is a very good chance that you will lose your CDL forever. Additionally, as if that was not bad enough, you will also lose your driver’s license for up to 2 years, you may go to jail for up to 90 days, you will have to participate in up to 30 days of community services, and you will have to pay up to $1,000 in fines.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What Happens if I am Charged With Driving Under the Influence With a CDL in NJ?
  •  Labor Day DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  Reckless Driving Charges in New Jersey | What You Need to Know