What Happens if I am Charged With Burglary in New Jersey?

What Happens if I am Charged With Burglary in New Jersey?

Everybody knows stealing is wrong. However, we all make mistakes, and we believe that those who make mistakes do not deserve lifelong punishment because of it. If you are convicted of a burglary charge in New Jersey, you will have a criminal record, which may follow you forever. That is why if you have been wrongly accused, or simply made a mistake, we are here to fight for your rights. Read on and reach out to our experienced firm to learn more about how we can help you going forward:

How is the term “burglary” defined in New Jersey?

To be convicted of burglary, you must be guilty of trespassing–that is, entering a structure or research facility without permission–while either committing or having the intent to commit a crime within that building. The term “structure” is key here, as the phrase can cover rooms, buildings, ships, tents, airplanes, vehicles, or any other place adapted for sleeping or business. As long as it can be proven that you entered said structure without its owner’s explicit permission, there is a very good chance you will be convicted of burglary.

However, it should be noted that even public places, though open to the public during operational hours, are off-limits after closing hours. Therefore, if you are on public property after hours, you will most likely be charged with trespassing or burglary.

Next, New Jersey courts will upgrade your burglary charge to aggravated burglary if you are found guilty of either inflicting, or threatening to inflict bodily injury on another person while in the act of committing a burglary. You may also be charged with aggravated burglary if you are either armed with or appear to be armed with an explosive device or deadly weapon.

What are the penalties for being convicted of burglary in New Jersey?

If you are convicted of burglary, you will face up to 5 years in prison, on top of a $15,000 fine. Burglary, in New Jersey, is considered a crime in the third degree. Additionally, if you are convicted of aggravated burglary, you may face up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines. Aggravated burglary is a crime in the second degree.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Expungements in New Jersey
  •  What Happens if I am Convicted of a Violent Crime in New Jersey?
  •  Police Will Be Looking For Drunk Drivers This Thanksgiving Weekend