What Happens if I am Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

What Happens if I am Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?

We all know it is wrong to shoplift or steal, however, people still do it. Of course, making a bad judgment call does not make you a bad person, though this does not mean that New Jersey courts will not treat you as such. If you have been caught shoplifting, you must continue reading and reach out to our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about the consequences of shoplifting in New Jersey and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process going forward:

What happens if I am caught shoplifting in New Jersey?

Under most circumstances, if you are caught shoplifting any item that has a dollar value of less than $200, you will most likely face what is known as a disorderly person’s offense. A disorderly person’s offense is a misdemeanor, and though not as damaging as a felony, a misdemeanor will still stay on your record.

Generally speaking, shoplifting cases will be heard in the local municipal court in the town where the shoplifting took place. If you are caught shoplifting for the first time, there is a very good chance you may face high fines, a lifetime ban from the store, and up to 6 months in jail. Rather obviously, even for a first offense, you will still face very serious repercussions. You may even have to go on probation for a certain period of time afterward.

That being said, you should note that when being charged for shoplifting, the consequences of those charges upon conviction vary greatly depending on the dollar value of the item stolen. So, the more expensive the stolen item, the more severe your consequences will be. The potential consequences for shoplifting, based on the dollar amount stolen, are as follows:

  • Between $200-$500: A 4th-degree crime, potential 18 months in jail, up to $10,000 in fines.
  • Between $500 and $75,000: 3rd-degree charge, between 3-5 years in jail, up to $15,000 in fines.
  • More than $75,000: A 2nd-degree crime, between 5-10 years in jail, and up to $150,000 in fines.

For any additional questions about shoplifting charges and how our experienced Camden County criminal defense attorney can help you fight them, please do not hesitate to give us a call today.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What You Should Know About Fourth of July DUIs in New Jersey
  •  What Happens if I am Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?
  •  How to Legally Purchase a Gun in New Jersey