What Are the Penalties for Texting and Driving in New Jersey?

What Are the Penalties for Texting and Driving in New Jersey?

If you are charged with texting and driving in New Jersey, or any other cell phone violation, you risk various consequences, including high fines, points on your license, and, in the worst cases, a potential license suspension. Our firm has helped countless individuals fight these charges for years, and we are ready to do the same for you. Please continue reading and speak with our New Jersey traffic violations attorney to learn more about cell phone violations and how we can help you fight them.

What happens if I am caught texting and driving in New Jersey?

If you are caught texting and driving, or committing any other cell phone violation in New Jersey, there is a very good chance that you will face very serious penalties, as well as potential points on your license. The potential penalties for cell phone violations in New Jersey are as follows:

  • A first offense cell phone violation: A fine between $200-$400
  • A second offense within 10 years: A fine between $400-$600
  • A third or subsequent offense within ten years: A fine between $600-$800. You will also receive 3 points on your driver’s license, and you may lose your license for up to 90 days.

Are there any exceptions/defenses to New Jersey’s cell phone violation law?

To start, if you have to make a phone call while you are driving, you should try and do so via Bluetooth, as it is not illegal to use a hands-free device to speak on the phone. That being said, if you are someone who has been caught on the phone otherwise, there are certain defenses you may use. For example, if you are someone who was on the phone because you believe that your life or safety is in jeopardy due to a potentially criminal act, you should not receive a cell phone violation. Additionally, if you were driving along and noticed a road hazard, a traffic crash, a fire, a medical emergency, or a reckless driver on the road and you were using your phone to report the incident, you should not receive a cell phone violation. However, if you are charged with a cell phone violation for any other reason, such as texting, you can expect to face serious ramifications. Our knowledgeable Camden County traffic violations attorney is here to help. All you have to do is give us a call.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Speeding Tickets in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  Domestic Violence Accusations in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  What You Need to Know About Drug Crimes in New Jersey