What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey?

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not tolerate reckless driving, which is why if you have been charged, you will likely face harsh consequences. Contact our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to discuss your case and your options. At Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC, we are committed to protecting you and your future. Keep reading to learn more about reckless driving in New Jersey.

What is reckless driving in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, you can receive a reckless driving ticket for many different reasons. Reckless driving in New Jersey is defined as when someone is driving a vehicle “heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger a person’s property.” For example, you can receive a ticket for driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit or driving under the influence. You can also be charged with driving recklessly if you damage another property with your vehicle.

What happens if I am charged with reckless driving in New Jersey?

You can face harsh life-altering consequences if you are convicted of reckless driving in New Jersey. It is also important to note that the penalties will increase as the amount of additional offenses increases. If you are charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you may be sentenced to jail for up to three months, and face fines of up to $500. Additionally, reckless driving tickets may also tack on a 5-point violation on your driver’s license record, which can lead to a sharp increase in insurance premiums and even a license suspension.

What will happen if I get points on my driver’s license?

The first thing that might happen if you receive points on your license is that your insurance premiums will increase. This can indicate that your reckless driving ticket will cause you to have months or even years of expenses. Additionally, if someone accumulates 6 or more points on their license within three years, they will likely need to pay a $150 fine.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm today to speak with our seasoned criminal defense attorneys to discuss your options and how to help you combat these charges. Our firm is prepared to fight for you and your future.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What to Know About Halloween Night DWIs in New Jersey
  •  What are the Consequences of Underage DWIs in New Jersey?
  •  What are the Penalties for Identity Theft in New Jersey?