DWIs are not limited to alcohol-related offenses. If you are pulled over while under the influence of drugs, you may also be charged with a DWI. If you find yourself in this situation, please read on to learn more about the consequences you may face if convicted. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I am charged with a first-offense drug DWI in New Jersey?
First-offense drug DWIs are harshly prosecuted to help ensure offenders do not make the same mistake twice. Unfortunately, even a first-time conviction can have lasting impacts, which is why you must take them very seriously and reach out to an experienced attorney as soon as you can. The potential penalties for a first-offense drug DWI in New Jersey are as follows:
- Up to 30 days incarceration
- 7-12 month-long license suspension
- $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
- $300-$500 fine
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
- A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
- Possible installation of an ignition interlock device
What are the consequences of a second drug DWI in New Jersey?
Repeat offenders face serious repercussions that may haunt them forever. The penalties for second-time offenders in New Jersey are as follows:
- Between 48 hours and 90 days incarceration
- 30 days of mandatory community service, though if the offense took place in a school zone, 60 days
- 2-year driver’s license suspension
- $500-$1000 fine
- Ignition interlock device for between 1-3 years after license restoration
- Additional fees and fines
What are the penalties for a third or subsequent drug DWI offense in New Jersey?
If this is your third or subsequent drug DWI offense, you risk going to jail, losing your driving privileges for a very long time, and having a criminal record. Having a criminal record can prevent you from getting the job you want, renting the house you want, or even prevent you from taking out loans you may need in the future. Those convicted of a third or subsequent offense may face the following:
- A $1000 fine
- Up to 180 days incarceration
- 10-year license suspension
- Various fines and fees
- Mandatory participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
- Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.