What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction in New Jersey?

woman driving with suspended license

In New Jersey, if you have been convicted of driving while under the influence (DUI) you will face significant penalties for your reckless driving behavior. One of the serious penalties you may face for a DUI conviction is license suspension or revocation. Essentially, you may lose your driving privileges temporarily or permanently for this type of criminal offense. If you violate this condition, meaning you operate a vehicle while your license is under suspension after a DUI conviction, you will be subjected to significant penalties. In the unfortunate event that you or someone you love has been caught driving while their license is under suspension for a DUI, read on and contact a qualified Camden County DUI Attorney who can help represent your interests in court. 

What happens if I am caught driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, if your license is under suspension or revocation and you are caught operating a vehicle, you will face serious penalties. This type of criminal offense is typically considered a misdemeanor traffic offense. However, if your license is under suspension or revocation as a result of a DUI conviction and you are caught driving, you will face more severe penalties. This is because, in the state of New Jersey, this is considered a felony offense. Felony offenses have lifelong repercussions that negatively impact your life. If you are charged with a felony you will lose your civil rights. This is a huge consequence as you will no longer have the right to vote. In addition, a felony offense remains on your record forever, which not only causes your auto insurance rates to increase but diminishes your ability to be eligible for jobs in certain fields such as law enforcement or the school system. Ultimately, this type of felony offense will negatively impact your life for your lifetime.

Furthermore, if you are charged with this felony offense, you will face a mandatory jail sentence of 180 days with no chance of parole. Alongside this jail sentence, you will be required to pay fines of $10,000 or more. In addition, your license will remain suspended or revoked for a longer period. You must retain the legal services of a skilled attorney as a felony conviction is a serious offense that carries harsh penalties.

If you or a loved one has been caught driving with a suspended license after a DUI conviction, please don’t hesitate to reach out to one of our trusted and skilled attorneys. With significant penalties as such, it is critical to have the right legal counsel to represent your interests in court. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf to defend your rights.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts