New Jersey takes assault charges very seriously, which is why if you have been charged, you will need to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Do not wait. Our firm is here to help you.
What are the different types of assault charges in New Jersey?
There are various forms of assault that vary in both severity and consequences. Even if an individual did not cause any actual physical harm, many still face serious charges and penalties as a result. In the state of New Jersey, a failed assault attempt can still result in criminal charges and so can other threats that cause victims to fear for their safety. The most common assault charges include:
- Simple assault: This type of assault is defined by a person who attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or attempts by physical menace to input fear of imminent serious bodily injury. These crimes are typically not treated as seriously as other charges because they do not usually involve a weapon and they typically cause little harm.
- Aggravated assault: This charge refers to when an individual purposely or knowingly causes injury to another individual with a deadly weapon.
- Sexual assault: An instance of aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree crime in New Jersey when it involves children under the age of 13, even if it was consensual sex. It is unfortunate that in the state of New Jersey, it is not uncommon for false accusations of sexual assault to arise.
- Domestic assault: It is not possible to retract charges once police arrest an individual that has been accused of domestic assault. With a domestic assault charge, actual physical harm is not needed to qualify as a charge. Individuals can be charged with domestic assault for stalking, harassment, or making threats. Immediately after receiving a charge for domestic assault, the person who was charged will face a restraining order. More harsh penalties and lifelong consequences will follow.
If you have questions or concerns about the different types of assault, do not hesitate to reach out to our firm to speak with one of our skilled attorneys. Our firm is dedicated to protecting our clients and their future.
What are the penalties for an assault charge in New Jersey?
There are many factors that the court considers when determining penalties for assault crimes. In some cases, simple assault convictions can result in restitution, probation, up to six months in jail, community service, and fines. With first-degree assault charges, they can result in 10 to 20 years in prison and fines up to $200,000.
If you were charged with any degree of assault in New Jersey, it is critical that you obtain an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you combat your charges.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.