What are the Penalties for a Hit and Run in New Jersey?

hit run new jersey

New Jersey requires drivers to pull over and make sure of everyone’s safety whenever vehicles collide. If you fail to do so, you open yourself up to charges for a hit and run. Given the difficulty law enforcement will have in identifying and apprehending you, you can bet that they will prosecute you to the fullest extent of state law. If you suspect you are involved in a hit and run in New Jersey, please read on, then contact an experienced Camden County violent crime attorney today.

What constitutes a hit and run in New Jersey?

Per New Jersey General Statute (N.J.G.S) 39:4-129, drivers involved in a car accident of any sort must stop, render necessary assistance and give personal identifying information to a police officer, witness, injured person or property owner. Drivers in this situation must provide the following:

  • Names
  • Addresses
  • Operator’s license number
  • Registration number

If drivers do not have the ability to report this information to any appropriate person for any reason, they must notify local law enforcement authorities of the details of the accident. Failure to do so can result in criminal charges.

What consequences do you face for a hit and run in New Jersey?

If you have the misfortune to sustain a conviction for a hit and run, you can expect severe penalties. Your exact penalties will depend on the severity of the underlying accident. Determining factors include the extent or lack thereof of injuries or deaths and the number of times, if any, the defendant has previously sustained convictions for this offense. With that in mind, the penalties are as follows:

First offense hit and run without injuries:

  • Between $200 and $400 in fines
  • Up to thirty days in jail
  • A license suspension of six months
  • Two points added to the individual’s driving record

Second offense hit and run without injuries:

  • Between $400 and $600 in fines
  • Between thirty and ninety days in jail
  • A license suspension of one year
  • Two “insurance eligibility points” added to the individual’s driving record, raising premiums

Hit and run with injuries or deaths:

  • Between 180 days and ten years in jail or prison
  • Between $2,500 and $5,000 in fines
  • A license suspension of one year (two, if a second offense)

How do you defend against a hit-and-run charge?

If law enforcement has charged you with a hit and run, you should speak with a skilled Camden County criminal defense attorney who will discuss the particulars of your case and employ one of the following defenses:

  • Mistaken identity
  • No proof of damage or accident
  • You did not, in fact, flee the scene; the alleged victim did

Our firm is here to help you fight for your future.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Why Might a DUI Breath Test Be Wrong in New Jersey?
  •  What is New Jersey’s Implied Consent Law?
  •  Why Should I Avoid Social Media After a DUI in New Jersey?