New Jersey takes underage DWI charges very seriously, which is why if you have been charged, you will need a skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. Contact Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC to get started building your defense with our experienced legal team. Continue reading to learn more about underage DWI charges in New Jersey.
What constitutes an underage DWI?
In New Jersey, a driver over the age of 21 with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or above will likely face DWI charges. However, if an underage driver (below the age of 21), is pulled over with a BAC of just .01%, he or she can face serious consequences.
What are the penalties for an underage DWI in New Jersey?
The consequences of an underage DWI typically depend on your BAC and if there were any prior convictions. If you are underage and received your first DWI offense, you will likely face:
- 15 to 30 days of community service
- Completion of alcohol education programs at the Intoxicated
- Driver Resource Center
- Various fees and fines
- A driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days
What should I do if I was charged with an underage DWI?
New Jersey has no tolerance for DWI charges, which is why it is important to comply after you have been pulled over. For instance, if you fail to take a breathalyzer test, your penalties may increase. If you are pulled over and charged with an underage DWI, you will likely face even harsher consequences. It is critical that you retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney right away. There are several defenses that can be used by those charged with a DWI. Some of the most common include the following:
- Failure to abide by the 20-minute rule
- The initial traffic stop was conducted illegally by the law enforcement officer
- Issues with field sobriety tests
- The officer did not read all of the instructions, the officer did not demonstrate the test, the officer failed to inform you that you can remove your high heels
- You had health issues that hinder your capacity to successfully take the field sobriety test
If you have been charged with an underage DWI, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm to obtain a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side. Our firm is equipped with the knowledge and experience to investigate all possible avenues of defense. Reach out to us as soon as possible to begin building your defense.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.