What are the Consequences of a Second DUI in New Jersey?

Did you know that DUI charges are tiered? This means that with each DUI you receive, your penalties will increase. For example, a second DUI means you are now a repeat offender and indicates that you have not learned from the consequences of your first DUI– Therefore you may face higher fines, lose your license for longer, and even receive more jail time. Read on to learn more about the consequences of a second DUI in New Jersey.

What are the consequences of a second DUI in New Jersey?

A second DUI can result in consequences including:

  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension for 2 years
  • A fine between $500 and $1,000
  • 12-48 hours in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your own expense

What other factors contribute to a DUI charge?

Prior offenses will not be the only factor that impacts your penalties. In New Jersey, DUI charges may also be affected by:

  • BAC
    • This refers to your Blood Alcohol Concentration. In New Jersey, the legal limit is .08%. If you are pulled over and your BAC is above .08%, you will be charged with a DUI. However, it is important to note that if your BAC is above .10%, you can be charged with a high BAC DUI. This can result in increased penalties and additional charges, such as reckless driving, landing you in serious legal trouble.
  • Underage
    • If you are found drinking and driving under the age of 21, you can receive a DUI with a BAC of just .01% and face serious consequences as a result.
  • Commercial license
    • Rules are stricter for those with a Commerical Driver’s License than drivers with regular licenses. If you have a CDL, you can receive a DUI with a BAC of .04% or higher.

What should I do if I am facing charges for a second-offense DUI?

If you are facing charges for a second DUI, it is important to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney. A skilled attorney may be able to have your charges reduced or even dropped. For example, your attorney may be able to argue that you were stopped unlawfully, that your field sobriety tests were conducted incorrectly, and so on.

If you are facing charges for a DUI in New Jersey, our firm will fight for you. Contact us today. The sooner you reach out, the sooner we can begin building your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Drug Possession in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  Penalties for Arson in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  What are the Consequences of a Second DUI in New Jersey?