What are the Consequences of a CDL DWI in New Jersey?

What are the Consequences of a CDL DWI in New Jersey?

People who drive as their jobs are issuesd a commercial driver’s license (CDL). In New Jersey, no one is allowed to drive while under the influence of alcohol. But, those with CDLs are held to an even higher standard. Losing your CDL can mean losing your ability to make a living. If you are facing charges for a CDL DWI in New Jersey, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Read on to learn more.

What Happens if I Recieve a CDL DWI in New Jersey?

It is important to understand that the standard for a DWI charge while driving a commercial vehicle is higher than when driving a non-commercial vehicle. For example, while driving a standard motor vehicle, you will face DWI charges if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. But, if you are driving a commercial vehicle, you can be charged with a DWI if you have a BAC of just .04% or above. If you are charged with CDL DWI, you may face:

  • A 3-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • A 1-year CDL license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours at the intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to $400 in fines

What Happens if I am Charged with a CDL DWI with a BAC Over .10%?

DWI charges are tiered. If you are pulled over with a BAC of .10% or higher on your first offense, you will face even harsher consequences, including:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Up to a 1-year suspension of your driver’s license
  • A 1-year CDL suspension
  • Up to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)

What Happens if I am Charged with a CDL DWI for a Second Time?

For a second DWI with a CDL in New Jersey, you risk losing your license forever, which, in this case, also means losing your livelihood. The consequences of a second DWI with a CDL in New Jersey are as follows:

  • A 2-year suspension of your standard driver’s license
  • Up to 48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

If you are facing charges for a CDL DWI in New Jersey, our firm is here to advocate for you.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts