Underage DWI in New Jersey | What to Know

Underage DWI in New Jersey | What to Know

An underage DWI is a serious offense. New Jersey has a Zero Tolerance Law when it comes to driving while intoxicated. In addition, it is illegal to purchase or consume alcohol under the age of 21. So, those who choose to drink underage and then operate a vehicle are breaking multiple serious laws. Driving drunk is incredibly dangerous and puts you, your passengers, other drivers, and pedestrians at risk. As a result, DWI charges can be serious and largely impact your future. Read on to learn more about underage DWI charges in New Jersey.

Penalties of an Underage DWI

The penalties associated with a DWI differ depending on a few things, including your BAC and prior offenses. Your BAC refers to your blood alcohol content. If you are over the age of 21 and you are pulled over with a BAC of .08% or higher, you will be charged with a DWI. But, if you are under 21, a BAC of just .01% will result in a DWI charge. These penalties will include:

  • A driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days
  • 15 to 30 days of community service
  • Completion of alcohol education programs at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Various fees and fines

It is important to remember that any subsequent DWI charges will result in higher penalties. Additionally, you may face increased penalties for things like failing to submit to a breathalyzer test.

What if I am Charged with an underage DWI?

If you are charged with an underage DWI, you will want to obtain legal representation. Make sure to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney. A criminal defense attorney will fight to reduce your charges and penalties.

If you or a loved one has been charged with an underage DWI, reach out to our firm today to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney. We understand that people make mistakes and we are here to fight on your behalf and advocate for you every step of the way.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  New Jersey’s Current Gun Laws | What to Know
  •  Easter Weekend DWI Charges in New Jersey | What to Know
  •  What if I am Facing Domestic Violence Charges in New Jersey