Reckless Driving Attorney in Mt. Ephraim, NJ
New Jersey takes the rules of the road very seriously and will punish anyone who violates the laws accordingly. It is no secret that some traffic offenses are more serious than others. One of the more serious driving infractions is reckless driving. When you are issued a ticket for reckless driving, it is important to have an attorney on your side that can try to plea bargain your ticket or have it dismissed altogether. For strong legal representation when you need it most, you can put your faith in Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC. Contact our firm today to learn how we can help.
What is Reckless Driving in New Jersey?
Reckless driving tickets can be issued for a number of reasons, including for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit, driving while intoxicated, or damaging property with a vehicle. The state of New Jersey defines reckless driving as a person who was found to “drive a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person’s property,” as stated in N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. If property is damaged or a person is injured, it may be strong evidence of reckless driving. However, there does not need to be any damage or injury to be guilty of reckless driving.
Consequences of a Reckless Driving Offense
If you are found guilty of reckless driving in the state of New Jersey, the penalties are severe. Of course, the more offenses of this infraction you have on your record, the more severe the consequences become. A person’s first reckless driving offense will result in up to 60 days of imprisonment and/or a fine between $50.00 and $200.00. A second or subsequent conviction will be punished with up to 3 months of imprisonment and/or a fine between $100.00 and $500.00. The offense of reckless driving also carries a 5-point violation on your driving record. Not only may you have to pay fees and higher insurance premiums if you receive 6 or more points within three years, but you may also lose your license if you accumulate 12 points or more on your record.
Variations of a Reckless Driving Charge
Reckless driving is also a lesser-included offense of vehicular homicide. The only difference between reckless driving and vehicular homicide is that the person’s reckless driving must be shown to have caused the death of another in the latter offense. Careless driving is a lesser-included offense of reckless driving. A person is guilty of careless driving if they drive a vehicle “without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property,” according to N.J.S.A. 39:4-95.
Contact a New Jersey Reckless Driving Defense Attorney
If you have been issued a reckless driving ticket in New Jersey, a lot is on the line. You need an attorney that is ready to fight for you. Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC can help you clear your name and avoid financial penalties, including state-issued fines and increased insurance premiums. To discuss your situation, contact our office today.