Driving Without a License Attorney in Mt. Ephraim, NJ
Any time a driver gets behind the wheel of their vehicle, they must abide by the rules of the road. Of course, when a driver in New Jersey violates these laws, they can be stopped by law enforcement and ticketed for a traffic violation. There are many different types of traffic violations but one of the most serious is driving without a license. While there are a number of reasons that one could lose their license, or may not have a license, to begin with, they will face the consequences of driving unlawfully. If you have been issued a ticket for driving without a license in the state of New Jersey, it is important that you consider your legal options and speak with an experienced attorney who can help protect your interests. The legal team at Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is ready to take on your case. Contact our office today to learn how we can help if you have been issued a ticket for driving without a license in New Jersey.
Penalties for Driving Without a License in New Jersey
The state of New Jersey takes driving without a license very seriously. If a person without a license is on the road, they can put themselves and others at risk, in addition to blatantly breaking the law. As a result, they can be penalized for their actions. New Jersey law N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 outlines the penalties for people caught driving without a license. The consequences are as follows:
- Individuals facing their first offense can be charged with a $500 fine as well as a license suspension for up to 6 months.
- Those facing a second offense can be charged a $750 fine, an extended license suspension up to 6 more months, and possible jail time up to 5 days.
- For third or subsequent offenders, they can face a $1000 fine, an additional license suspension up to 6 months, and possible jail time up to 10 days.
It is important to be aware that these penalties can become more serious depending on how severe the case is. For example, if a person drives without a license and injures another party, they can face imprisonment between 45 and 180 days. In addition to this, if a driver is under the influence without a license, they can face license revocation for 1 to 2 years as well as up to 90 days in jail. Offenders can also face state surcharges of $250 every year for 3 years.
Contact a New Jersey Traffic Violations Attorney
If you have been issued a traffic violation in New Jersey, specifically for driving without a license, it is important that you speak with an experienced attorney who can assist you. At Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC, we have proudly represented people throughout New Jersey since 1991 as they face a wide variety of violations. Our firm is ready to help you avoid fines, fees, and other penalties. Contact our office today to learn how we can help.