Cell Phone Violations Attorney in Mt Ephraim, NJ
Today, a cell phone is typically never more than an arm’s reach away from nearly anyone, even a driver. Cell phone use behind the wheel of a car is not lawful if hands-free technology is not being used. Luckily, many modern cars come standard with this technology, such as Apple CarPlay. When drivers are paying more attention to their phones than they are to the road, the situation can quickly become dangerous and accidents can happen. In fact, distracted driving is one of the leading causes of car accidents in the country. The state of New Jersey takes distracted driving very seriously and will issue a cell phone violation if you are found using your phone while driving. If you have been issued a cell phone violation in New Jersey, it is important that you consult with an experienced traffic violations attorney who can help you avoid harsh penalties. Contact Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC today to learn how we can help.
Consequences of a Cell Phone Violation in New Jersey
The consequences of a cell phone violation in New Jersey can have significant impacts. Similarly to many other infractions, the more offenses you have on your driving record, the greater the penalties will be.
- A first offense cell phone violation will result in a fine between $200 and $400
- A second offense within 10 years will result in a fine between $400 and $600
- A third or subsequent offense within ten years will result in a fine between $600 and $800, 3 points added to your driving record, and a possible license suspension of 90 days
Exceptions to the Law
While the state of New Jersey does not permit drivers to use their phones as they drive, new technology has made hands-free use much easier and legal. However, there are a few exceptions where drivers are permitted to use their cell phones without a hands-free device. This includes the following scenarios:
- If a driver has reason to believe that his or her life or safety is in jeopardy due to a possible criminal act
- If a driver is trying to contact emergency services to report a fire, traffic crash, road hazard, medical emergency, or are reporting a reckless driver on the road.
Contact a Camden County Cell Phone Violations Attorney
If you have been issued a cell phone violation in the state of New Jersey, it is important that you consider your legal options. Either you can accept your penalties or fight the ticket with or without the help of an attorney. An experienced traffic violations attorney can assist you in avoiding fines and points on your record. The more points you acquire on your driving record, the greater your insurance premiums will be and the greater the chance for facing surcharges or having your license revoked. Contact the skilled and experienced legal team at Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC today to learn how we can help.