Thanksgiving DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Thanksgiving DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Did you know that the night before Thanksgiving is one of the most dangerous nights of the year when it comes to drunk drivers? This is because on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, college students and other young adults come back to their hometowns and reconnect with their childhood friends. This usually involves drinking at bars and parties. Unfortunately, some of these party-goers will make the decision to get behind the wheel after a night of drinking. This night is so notorious for parties that it has been nicknamed “Drinksgiving” and “Blackout Wednesday.” So, what if you are charged with a DWI this Thanksgiving weekend? Read on to learn more.

What are the consequences of an underage DWI?

If you are pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration of. 08% or higher, you will likely be charged with a DWI. But, if you are under the age of 21, you can face DWI charges for a BAC of just .01%. If this occurs, you may face the following:

  • 15 to 30 days of community service
  • Completion of alcohol education programs at the Intoxicated
  • Driver Resource Center
  • Various fees and fines
  • A driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days

What are the consequences of a first offense DWI in New Jersey?

It is important to understand that DWI charges are dependent upon your BAC and your previous charges. So, if you are pulled over for a DWI for the first time, and your BAC is .08-.09%, you will likely face the following consequences:

  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device for 3-6 months
  • 30-day license forfeiture
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration

What are the consequences of a high BAC DWI?

As mentioned above, your penalties will depend upon your BAC. If your BAC is .10% or higher, your charges will increase, resulting in:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A license suspension of up to 12 months
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device during the license suspension and up to 12 months after its restoration
  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund

DWI charges are extremely serious. If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, reach out to our firm to discuss your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What to Know About Theft Charges in New Jersey
  •  How Can a Criminal Record Impact my Future?
  •  Thanksgiving DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know