Reckless Driving Charges in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Reckless Driving Charges in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Reckless driving is among the worst traffic-related charges an individual can receive. If you are someone who is currently facing reckless driving charges in New Jersey, you must continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable Camden County traffic violations attorney to learn more about the potential consequences you may face, and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How does New Jersey classify reckless driving?

Essentially, if you issued a reckless driving ticket in New Jersey, it may have been for a wide variety of reasons. For instance, you may receive a reckless driving ticket for driving 30 mph over the speed limit. You may also receive a reckless driving ticket for driving while intoxicated, which would compound the punishment you would receive for driving under the influence in itself. Furthermore, you may also receive a reckless driving ticket for damaging property with your vehicle. That being said, New Jersey law formally describes reckless driving as when someone is caught driving a vehicle “heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person’s property.”

What happens if I am convicted of reckless driving in New Jersey?

There are few traffic tickets that are more damaging than reckless driving. If you are charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you are looking at several very serious penalties, some of which may even land you behind bars. For a first offense reckless driving charge in New Jersey, you will may have to spend up to 60 days in jail, as well as face a fine of up to $200. That being said, if you are charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you may go to jail for up to three months, as well as face a fine of up to $500. You should also understand that a reckless driving offense will come with a 5-point violation on your driving record, which can lead to having your license suspended, and it may also cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket. The bottom line is that if you are facing a reckless driving charge in New Jersey, you need an experienced New Jersey traffic violations attorney on your side. We are here to help.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What Happens if I am Charged With Driving Under the Influence With a CDL in NJ?
  •  Labor Day DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  Reckless Driving Charges in New Jersey | What You Need to Know