Police Will Be Looking For Drunk Drivers This Thanksgiving Weekend

Police Will Be Looking For Drunk Drivers This Thanksgiving Weekend

Thanksgiving Weekend is one of the most popular weekends for drunk driving, which also makes it perhaps the most dangerous time of the year to be on the road. In fact, over 800 people have been killed by drunk drivers in Thanksgiving Weekend accidents over the last 6 years. Everyone knows it’s wrong to do, however, people still do it. That is why our firm is here. If you made a mistake and are now being charged with a DWI, you will need an aggressive attorney who is ready to fight on your behalf. Here are some of the questions you may have about DWIs in New Jersey:

What happens if I am charged with a DWI in New Jersey?

Even if this is only your first DWI, you may face serious consequences that can affect your life for years down the road. The recently-updated terms for first-offense DWIs in New Jersey entail the following punishments:

  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device for 3-6 months
  • 30-day license forfeiture
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration

What are the consequences of a second DWI in New Jersey?

If this is your second DWI, you will now be treated as a repeat offender this time around. Here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • 90 days of incarceration
  • 2-year license forfeiture
  • Up to 48 hours in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • A fine of up to $1000

How long will I lose my license for a third DWI in New Jersey?

If this is your third DWI, you absolutely have to hire an experienced attorney who has been aggressively defending those in your positions for years. Here are some of the penalties you may face for a third or subsequent DWI in New Jersey:

  • 90 days of incarceration
  • 2-year license forfeiture
  • Up to 48 hours in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • A fine of up to $1000

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Expungements in New Jersey
  •  What Happens if I am Convicted of a Violent Crime in New Jersey?
  •  Police Will Be Looking For Drunk Drivers This Thanksgiving Weekend