New Jersey’s Vote to Legalize Weed | What You Should Know

New Jersey’s Vote to Legalize Weed | What You Should Know

Marijuana is becoming more and more socially acceptable. Some states have already legalized it, and other states are beginning that process. 66.91% of New Jersey residents voted to legalize weed, and NJ is now taking steps toward legalization. So is weed legal now? Where is it available for purchase? Is there an age restriction? Read on to find out more about the legalization of marijuana in New Jersey.

Can I Buy Weed in New Jersey?

Not yet. New Jersey has a medical marijuana program, and currently, that is the only way you can legally buy weed in the state.

Who Can Buy Weed in New Jersey?

Once you can legally purchase weed in New Jersey, only those 21 years and older will be able to legally purchase. Those under 21 years old may still be arrested for possession of marijuana.

When Will Dispensaries Open?

Before dispensaries can open, lawmakers need to pass new laws. These laws will decriminalize marijuana, and set new standards and regulations for the industry. It is unclear how long this will all take. Some predict that, if all goes as planned, dispensaries will begin to open and sell weed by late 2021 or mid-2022. In Massachusetts, dispensaries did not open until two years after MA residents voted to legalize marijuana, and in Maine, it took about four years. So, it will not be something that happens overnight.

Can I be Arrested for Marijuana Possession?

As of now, there is a gray area when it comes to those arrested for possession. If the legalization of marijuana is added to New Jersey’s state constitution, those arrested for possession may be able to use this as a new legal defense. But, until new laws are passed, current laws must be obeyed. Under current New Jersey law:

  • 50 grams of marijuana or less is considered a disorderly persons offense. This can result in up to 6 months of incarceration and a maximum fine of $1,000.
  • More than 50 grams is considered a crime, which can result in a maximum of 1.5 years of incarceration and a fine of up to $25,000.

If you or a loved one has received a drug-related charge, it is important to reach out to a skilled criminal defense attorney. Contact Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC with any questions.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Probation Violations in New Jersey | What to Know
  •  Underage DWI in New Jersey | What to Know
  •  What if I am Pulled Over Driving Without a License?