New Jersey Police Will be Looking for Drunk Drivers This Halloween

New Jersey Police Will be Looking for Drunk Drivers This Halloween

Halloween is a time of celebration, no matter your age. However, if you are going out Halloween night, you must ensure you do not drink and drive, no matter what. Police will be all over New Jersey just waiting to catch those driving under the influence. If you are caught with a DWI in New Jersey, please read on to learn more about the effect such an offense may have on your life.

What happens if I get a DWI in New Jersey?

Fortunately, New Jersey courts have recently updated our DWI laws and punishments more closely represent the nature of the crime. The updates law states that if you are charged with a first-time DWI and had a BAC of 0.08-0.10%, you may face the following consequences:

  • Mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device for 3-6 months
  • 30-day license suspension
  • $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration

Additionally, if you were arrested with a BAC of 0.10%-0.15%, you will be required to install and use the ignition interlock device from between 6 months to a year, as well as face a 45-day license suspension. However, if you are arrested and had a BAC over 0.15%, you are facing a 90-day license suspension, as well as the mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device for a 12-18 month period.

What happens after getting a second DWI in New Jersey?

A second DWI will have lasting impacts on both your insurance premiums, and, in some cases, your ability to get a job, as you may spend time in jail, lose your license for an extended period of time, and have a serious criminal record. The penalties for a second DWI are as follows:

  • 90 days incarceration
  • 2-year license suspension
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • $500-$1000 fine
  • 12-48 hours in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Can you get your license back after 3 DWIs?

In some cases, yes, but you must have an experienced attorney on your side. For a third DWI offense, you may face the following consequences:

  • 180 days incarceration
  • 10-year license suspension
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
  • $1000 fine
  • Installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • $1,500 surcharge each year for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What Happens if I am Charged With Burglary in New Jersey?
  •  Breathalyzer Tests Are Not Always Accurate
  •  Theft Crimes in New Jersey