New Jersey Approves Question Regarding the Legalization of Marijuana on 2020 Ballot

New Jersey Approves Question Regarding the Legalization of Marijuana on 2020 Ballot

Recently, New Jersey has approved putting a vote for legalizing marijuana on the November 2020 ballot. If approved, recreational cannabis will be made available to individuals over the age of 21. Though, of course, the drug is not yet legalized, the state expects the majority of New Jersey residents will vote for legalization. If legalized, New Jersey will be the 11th state to do so. Of the legislation, New Jersey Senate President Stephen Sweeny said, “Legalization is a significant step in public policy that will have a real-life impact on social justice, law enforcement, and the lives of people in communities throughout New Jersey.”

That being said, if you are currently facing a marijuana-related charge, you will still face serious consequences, and will, therefore, need the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Please read on and reach out to our experienced firm to learn more about marijuana charges in New Jersey and how we can help you through the legal process going forward:

What are the current penalties for the possession of marijuana in New Jersey?

Though New Jersey has recently changed its tone regarding the recreational use of marijuana, currently, the penalties for a marijuana possession charge are still quite severe. They are as follows:

  • 50 grams or less: A disorderly person penalty, up to 6 months of incarceration, and a $1,000 fine
  • More than 50 grams: Up to 1.5 years in jail, as well as a potential $25,000 fine

What are the current penalties for selling marijuana in New Jersey?

If you are caught selling marijuana in the state of New Jersey, you face even harsher penalties, including jail time and fines. The penalties for the sale or distribution of marijuana in New Jersey are as follows:

  • Less than 1 ounce: Up to 1.5 years of incarceration, as well as a $25,000 fine
  • More than 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds: Up to 5 years of incarceration, as well as a $25,000 fine
  • Between 5 pounds and 25 pounds: Up to 10 years in jail, and a maximum $150,000 fine
  • More than 25 pounds: Up to 20 years of incarceration and a hefty $300,000 fine
  • The distribution of marijuana within 1000 feet of a school or school bus: Up to 5 years of incarceration, as well as a $150,000 fine
  • If you are caught selling marijuana to a pregnant woman, you risk your sentence being doubled

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What Happens if I am Convicted of Drug Possession in New Jersey?
  •  Will I go to Jail For a Sex Crime in New Jersey?
  •  What Are the Gun Laws in New Jersey?