Labor Day DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Labor Day DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

This Labor Day, many people from across the state will travel to meet their friends and relatives to celebrate. There will be barbecues, pool parties, and more. Many people celebrate the holiday by having a drink or two, which is fine, provided they do not drive afterward. Unfortunately, many people make the mistake of driving after they are technically above the legal limit, and if you are someone who has been arrested for a DWI in New Jersey, you must continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about DWIs in New Jersey and how our firm can help you fight the charges you are now facing. Here are some of the questions you may have about New Jersey DWIs:

Will I go to jail for a DWI in New Jersey?

If you are someone who is arrested for a DWI in New Jersey, you will most likely not go to jail. However, there is still a possibility that you may, which is why you cannot afford to face these charges alone. The potential penalties for a first-offense DWI in New Jersey are as follows:

  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • Will will have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • You may face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $500 fine
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 3 and 6 months, at your own cost

What happens if I am charged with a DWI for the second time in New Jersey?

For a second DWI offense in New Jersey, you will most likely face the following consequences:

  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You will face a $1,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use an ignition interlock device, at your own cost
  • You may lose your license for 2 years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

What are the penalties for a third DWI in NJ?

The consequences of a third DWI in New Jersey are as follows:

  • You will most likely face a $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You may lose your license for two years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • The use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What Happens if I am Charged With Driving Under the Influence With a CDL in NJ?
  •  Labor Day DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  Reckless Driving Charges in New Jersey | What You Need to Know