Is reckless driving considered a crime in New Jersey?

reckless driving car driving high speed speeding

When motorists engage in unsafe driving practices that they know or have every reason to know could potentially harm people or property, yet they still engage in it anyway, it is considered reckless driving. Reckless driving is no laughing matter as it puts everyone on the road’s safety at risk. In New Jersey, reckless driving carries severe penalties. Oftentimes, motorists wonder whether reckless driving is considered a crime as it often results in serious auto accidents. Please continue reading to learn how reckless driving is classified in New Jersey. In addition, if you have been charged with reckless driving contact a dedicated Camden County Reckless Driving Attorney who can offer you individualized legal counseling. 

Is reckless driving a crime in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, reckless driving is not considered a criminal offense. Reckless driving is classified as a traffic violation. However, the serious penalties associated with a reckless driving charge are akin to those of a criminal offense. The law defines reckless driving as “operating a vehicle heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.” Although this is considered a traffic violation, this offense carries harsh penalties. Unfortunately, more often than not reckless driving results in serious auto collisions. To keep everyone on the road safe from harm, motorists must refrain from reckless driving.

What are the potential penalties?

Those who engage in reckless driving will suffer serious consequences for their dangerous and irresponsible driving behavior. There are several reasons why a motorist may be charged with reckless driving charge. Excessive speeding, driving while under the influence, texting while driving, tailgating, and other dangerous driving behaviors could result in a reckless driving charge. If a motorist is charged with a first-offense reckless driving charge will be subject to up to 60 days of jail time. They will also have to pay fines between $50 and $200. In addition, they can face license suspension and 5 motor vehicle points on their standard driver’s license. If this is a motorist’s second reckless driving conviction they will face jail time of up to 90 days. In addition, they will have to pay fines between $100 and $500. They may face license suspension and 5 motor vehicle points on their driving record as well. Furthermore, a reckless driving charge could result in an array of fines, license suspension, points added to their driving record, and jail time. These significant penalties are similar to those for criminal offenses. The potential penalties for reckless driving can have long-lasting negative effects on a motorist’s driving record. If a motorist accumulates a certain amount of points they could lose their driving privileges. This type of traffic violation can cause a motorist’s auto insurance rates to increase dramatically. To prevent these harsh penalties, contact our skilled and determined attorneys who can defend your rights.

If you have been charged with reckless driving, don’t hesitate to reach out to our seasoned attorneys who can fight on your behalf to seek a favorable outcome. Allow our firm to represent your interests in court today!



Read Our Latest Blog Posts