How Will I be Penalized for My Halloween DUI Offense?

Halloween alcoholic cocktails

In the unfortunate event that you received a DWI offense on Halloween, then you must prepare the penalties ahead of you. These penalties will vary depending on the number of offenses on your record and your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time you were pulled over. Overall, you will likely receive a permanent criminal record. Continue reading to learn how you will be penalized for your Halloween DWI offense and how an experienced Camden County DUI attorney at DeMarco & Associates, LLC, can come to your defense.

How will I be penalized for my first-offense Halloween DUI?

When a law enforcement officer pulls you over on suspicion of driving while intoxicated, they will conduct a breathalyzer test to determine your BAC level. If this is your first offense, and if your BAC level is between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, you may be facing the following consequences:

  • Jail time for up to 30 days.
  • A fine of between $250 to $400.
  • A license suspension until you install the ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.
  • An IID in your vehicle for up to three months.
  • Required attendance at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for 12 to 48 hours.
  • Additional surcharges, court costs, and fines.

And if your BAC level is between 0.10 percent and 0.15 percent, you may face the following heightened consequences:

  • Jail time for up to 30 days.
  • A fine of between $300 to $500.
  • A license suspension until you install the IID in your vehicle.
  • An IID in your vehicle for between seven months to one year.
  • Required attendance at the IDRC for 12 to 48 hours.
  • Additional surcharges, court costs, and fines.

How will I be penalized for my second-offense Halloween DUI?

If you have already been charged with a DUI within 10 years of when you received your Halloween DUI, then you will be considered a repeat offender. The specific consequences for a second-offense DUI read as follows:

  • Jail time for up to 90 days.
  • A fine of between $500 to $1,000.
  • A license suspension for two years.
  • An IID in your vehicle.
  • Required attendance at the IDRC for 12 to 48 hours.
  • Additional fines.

How will I be penalized for my third-offense Halloween DUI?

And lastly, aside from a High BAC DUI charge, a third-offense DUI is the most serious charge you can receive. With this, jail time and fines are almost a given. You may be penalized in the following ways:

  • Jail time for up to 180 days.
  • A fine of $1,000.
  • A license suspension for 10 years.
  • A surcharge of $1,500 each year for three years.
  • An IID in your vehicle.
  • Required attendance at the IDRC for 12 to 48 hours.
  • Additional fines.

If you require assistance with defending against your Halloween DUI, then you must retain the services of a skilled Camden County criminal defense attorney today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Does New Jersey Consider a DUI a Felony?
  •  What Do I Do If My Child Is Caught Shoplifting in New Jersey?
  •  Can I Get a Conditional License in New Jersey After a DUI?