How Does Blood Alcohol Content Affect the Consequences of a DWI Charge in New Jersey?

How Does Blood Alcohol Content Affect the Consequences of a DWI Charge in New Jersey?

A DWI is one of the worst driving offenses an individual can commit, and New Jersey treats it as such. Even with its updated DWI laws, set to go into effect December 1 of this year, motorists may face very serious penalties if convicted, including jail time. If you are someone who has been charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey, you cannot afford to fight the offense without an experienced attorney by your side. If you find yourself in this unfortunate situation, please read on and reach out to our firm to learn more about how we can help. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding your legal options going forward:

What are the new consequences of receiving a first-offense DWI in New Jersey with a BAC between .08% and .10%?

Since New Jersey has recently changed its DWI laws, you may now face the following penalties for a first-offense DWI with a BAC between .08% and .10%:

  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • The mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 3 and 6 months
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)

What happens if I am caught with a BAC between .10% and .15%?

If you are caught with a BAC between .10% and .15% in New Jersey, you may face the following consequences:

  • A license forfeiture of 45 days
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
  • The mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device for between 6 months and 1 year

How long will I lose my license for a first-offense DWI with a BAC of more than .15% in New Jersey?

With the new DWI laws in effect, you may lose your license for up to 90 days and face the following additional penalties:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • Between 12 and 48 hours spent in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device for between 1 year and 18 months

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Expungements in New Jersey
  •  What Happens if I am Convicted of a Violent Crime in New Jersey?
  •  Police Will Be Looking For Drunk Drivers This Thanksgiving Weekend