If you operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% in the state of New Jersey, you will be charged with driving while under the influence (DUI). The penalties for this traffic offense are severe. One of the more serious penalties you will face for this offense is the loss of your driving privileges through license suspension or revocation. The loss of your driving privileges will negatively affect your life including your livelihood as you will not be able to travel to and from work. In some states, those convicted of alcohol-related offenses can obtain a hardship or conditional license that grants them restricted driving privileges. However, New Jersey is not one of those states. If you have been charged with DUI, it is in your best interest to retain the legal services of a seasoned Camden County DUI Attorney to protect your driving privileges. Please continue following along to learn how you can get your driver’s license back after a DUI conviction.
Does New Jersey offer hardship or a conditional driver’s license after a DUI conviction?
As mentioned above, in some states those convicted of alcohol-related offenses such as a DUI may qualify for a hardship or conditional license which allows them to drive with limited privileges. However, New Jersey does not offer those convicted of alcohol-related offenses hardship or conditional licenses. With that being said, it is imperative to have the right legal representation. An experienced attorney will evaluate the charges being brought against you and develop the most effective defense strategies to get your charges reduced or dismissed. This can help ensure your driving privileges are protected.
In New Jersey, when you are convicted of DUI, you will automatically face a license suspension of 3 months. However, if the court finds any aggravating factors warrant additional penalties, they could take away your license for longer. If your license is suspended, you are not allowed to operate a vehicle until the terms of your license suspension period are over. If you operate a vehicle while your license has been suspended or revoked for DUI, you will be subject to an additional 1-2 years suspension of your driver’s license. You will also face additional penalties including an array of hefty fines and jail time of up to 90 days. It is imperative to refrain from operating a vehicle while your license is under suspension or revocation for DUI until the terms of your sentence are over.
How do I get my driving privileges reinstated?
After the period of your license suspension or revocation is over, you will not automatically have your license reinstated. At the DMV, you will have to apply to have your license reinstated. Alongside your application, you will be required to pay a $100 reinstatement fee. Once you have completed these steps, you will be issued a new driver’s license. Until you’ve completed these steps, you cannot operate a vehicle.
In the unfortunate event that you have been charged with DUI, it is critical to have one of our qualified attorneys fight on your behalf. As New Jersey does not offer a conditional license, you could lose your driving privileges for a substantial amount of time which could affect your livelihood. Allow our firm to represent your interests in court to protect your driving privileges.