Though most DUIs have to do with driving under the influence of alcohol, the truth is, you can also receive a DUI for driving under the influence of drugs, and the consequences are still very severe. Please continue reading and speak with our New Jersey criminal defense attorney to learn more about drug DUIs and how our firm can help you if you have been charged with one. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I am charged with drugged driving in New Jersey?
If you are charged with drugged driving, even for a first offense, there is a very good chance that you will face serious ramifications that may follow you for years to come. Here are some of the consequences you may face for drugged driving in New Jersey:
- You may spend up to 30 days in jail
- You may lose your license for up to 12 months.
- You may have to install the ignition interlock device
- You will have to pay up to a $500 fine
- You will have to spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- You will have to pay a $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
What happens if I am charged with a second drug DUI?
For a second drug DUI, you can expect to face even harsher consequences, as the courts in New Jersey will now treat you as a repeat offender. The penalties for a second drug DUI are as follows:
- You will lose your license for up to 2 years.
- You will have to pay up to a $1,000 fine
- You will most likely have to install and use the ignition interlock device for up to 3 years after license restoration
- You will have to spend up to 90 days in jail.
- You will have to spend 30 days doing community service.
Will I go to jail for a third drug DUI?
If this is your third drug DUI, you are looking at very serious consequences, which is why you cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney. The penalties for a third drug DUI in New Jersey are as follows:
- You may lose your license for 10 years.
- You will have to participate in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center.
- You will have to install and use the Ignition Interlock Device.
- You will have to pay a $1,000 fine.
- You may spend up to 180 days in jail.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves in our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.