Easter Weekend DWI Charges in New Jersey | What to Know

Easter Weekend DWI Charges in New Jersey | What to Know

Many people celebrate the holidays with drinks. This may include mimosas at brunch over Easter weekend. While it is perfectly normal to share a few drinks with friends and family, it can be incredibly dangerous to drive home afterward. Driving while intoxicated is taken very seriously in New Jersey. DWI charges carry heavy consequences that can follow you throughout your life. Read on to learn more about DWI charges in New Jersey and what to do if you are facing charges.

What if I am Charged with a DWI for the First Time?

If you are pulled over with a DWI of .08-.09% and this is your first DWI, you may face the following penalties.

  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • Will will have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • You may face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $500 fine
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 3 and 6 months, at your own cost

If your BAC is .10% or above, your penalties will increase. The consequences will also vary depending on whether you are over 21-years-old.

What if I am Charged with a DWI for the Second Time in New Jersey?

For a second DWI offense in New Jersey, you will most likely face the following increased consequences:

  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You will face a $1,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use an ignition interlock device, at your own cost
  • You may lose your license for 2 years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

What are the penalties for a third DWI in NJ?

The consequences of a third DWI in New Jersey are as follows:

  • You will most likely face a $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You may lose your license for two years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • The use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

If you are facing DWI charges, you will need to enlist the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Reach out to our firm today to discuss your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What to Know About White-Collar Crimes in New Jersey
  •  Obtaining a Firearms Permit in New Jersey | What to Know
  •  Speeding Tickets in New Jersey | What to Know