New Jersey takes driving under the influence consequences very seriously. Many car accidents are correlated to driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In order to combat this issue, New Jersey law has heavily enforced strong penalties for these charges. If you were charged with a drugged driving offense, it is important to reach out to a skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC, we will fight for your rights.
What can happen if I am charged with Drugged Driving in New Jersey?
If you are charged with drugged driving for the first time, you may be subject to the following penalties:
- You may spend up to 30 days in jail
- You may lose your license for up to 12 months
- You may have to install the ignition interlock device
- You will have to pay up to a $500 fine
- You will have to spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- You will have to pay a $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
What if my drugged driving charge is my second offense?
With a second drugged driving charge, the court will consider you as a repeat offender, and it is likely that you will face harsher consequences. The penalties for a second drugged driving charge include:
- You will have to spend up to 90 days in jail
- You will lose your license for up to two years
- You will have to pay up to $1,000 in fines
- You will likely have to install and use the ignition interlock device for up to three years after license restoration
- You will have to spend 30 days doing community service
What are the consequences of a third offense?
The consequences of a third offense of drugged driving are very serious and the penalties may have a long-term impact on your future. The penalties for a third drugged driving offense in New Jersey are as follows:
- You may lose your license for 10 years
- You will have to participate in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
- You will have to install and use the Ignition Interlock Device
- You will have to pay a $1,000 fine
- You may spend up to 180 days in jail
If you were charged with a drugged driving offense, contact our experienced criminal law attorneys to discuss your options and possible defenses for your case.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.