Drugged Driving in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

According to a 2019 survey by PSB Research, Civilized, Burson Cohn & Wolfe, and BuzzFeed News, half of marijuana users in the US think they’re fine to drive high. While many people think it is okay to drive high, driving while under the influence of drugs is extremely dangerous and can have serious legal consequences as a result. Read on to learn more.

Consequences of drugged driving in New Jersey:

If you are charged with drugged driving for the first time, you may face the following penalties:

  • You may spend up to 30 days in jail
  • You may lose your license for up to 12 months
  • You may have to install the ignition interlock device
  • You will have to pay up to a $500 fine
  • You will have to spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • You will have to pay a $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

What to know about a second drugged driving offense:

It is important to understand that if you receive a second drugged driving charge, the court will consider you a repeat offender, leading to harsher consequences, including:

  • You will have to spend up to 90 days in jail
  • You will lose your license for up to two years
  • You will have to pay up to $1,000 in fines
  • You will likely have to install and use the ignition interlock device for up to three years after license restoration
  • You will have to spend 30 days doing community service

What are the consequences of a third offense?

The consequences of a third offense of drugged driving can have a long-term impact on your future. The penalties for a third drugged driving offense in New Jersey are as follows:

  • You may lose your license for 10 years
  • You will have to participate in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • You will have to install and use the Ignition Interlock Device
  • You will have to pay a $1,000 fine
  • You may spend up to 180 days in jail

If you are facing charges for drugged driving in New Jersey, our firm is here to help. Reach out today to discuss your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Drug Possession in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  Penalties for Arson in New Jersey | What You Need to Know
  •  What are the Consequences of a Second DUI in New Jersey?