Driving With a Suspended License in New Jersey | What to Know

If you are caught driving with a suspended license, you may find yourself in serious trouble. Generally, your license will only be suspended for serious traffic violations or DWI charges. This means that if you continue to drive with a suspended license, you have already put others in danger and are continuing to do so by ignoring court orders. Read on to learn more about the charges associated with driving with a suspended license.

License not in Possession

There is a big difference between driving with a suspended license and driving without a license in possession. Driving without your license in possession simply means that you have a valid driver’s license, but don’t have it on your person. This happens often, for example, if you leave the house in a rush, you may forget to grab your wallet on the way out. If you are pulled over for driving without a license, but you do have a valid driver’s license, you may face a small fine.

Driving with a Suspended License

Driving with a suspended license is a very different story than driving without a license in possession and carries much more serious consequences. If you have a suspended license, it means that you likely engaged in some dangerous behavior to have your license suspended. So, by driving with a suspended or revoked license, you are ignoring court orders, while simultaneously putting yourself and others on the road at risk. If you are pulled over and found driving with a suspended license, you may face the following penalties:

  • For a first offense, you can be charged with a $500 fine as well as a license suspension for up to 6 months.
  • Those facing a second offense can be charged a $750 fine, an extended license suspension up to 6 more months, and possible jail time up to 5 days.
  • For third or subsequent offenders, you can face a $1000 fine, an additional license suspension up to 6 months, and possible jail time up to 10 days.

If you are facing charges for driving without a license, whether that be driving without a license in possession or driving with a suspended license, our firm will advocate for you. Reach out today to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What do I do if I am Falsely Accused of a Crime in New Jersey?
  •  What to Know About Robbery Charges in New Jersey
  •  Driving With a Suspended License in New Jersey | What to Know