Camden County DUI Attorney

Camden County DUI Attorney

DUI Attorney in Mt Ephraim, New Jersey

New Jersey takes the rules of the road seriously, especially when it comes to driving under the influence of alcohol. Those who make the decision to drive with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher will face serious penalties imposed by law enforcement. The consequences range depending on the number of offenses on your record as well as your BAC. If you have been charged with a DUI in New Jersey, obtaining strong legal defense is necessary. At Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC, we will put our nearly 40 years of experience to work for you. Our firm has the skill and knowledge necessary to look for all possible defenses in your case. Contact Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC today to discuss your situation.

First Offense DUI

When an individual is pulled over on suspicion of driving while intoxicated, the law enforcement officer that has initiated the stop will have to determine the driver’s blood alcohol content. If you have been found driving with a blood alcohol content between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, you can face a range of serious penalties. If this is your first DUI offense, the penalties are as follows:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • License suspension for 3 months
  • A $1000 surcharge per year for 3 years
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Second Offense DUI

While any driving under the influence offense is significant, the penalties increase tremendously if you already have previous offenses on your record. If you are being charged with a second offense DUI in New Jersey within 10 years of your previous conviction, the penalties include the following:

  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension for 2 years
  • A fine between $500 and $1,000
  • 12-48 hours in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Third or Subsequent DUI

Some of the most serious DUI consequences that you can face occur if this is your third or subsequent DUI charge within a period of 10 years. The state of New Jersey takes this very seriously and the odds are stacked against you. The penalties of a third or subsequent DUI in New Jersey include:

  • A maximum of 180 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension for 10 years
  • A $1,500 surcharge each year for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
  • $1000 fine
  • Mandatory Ignition interlock device

High BAC DUI

If you are charged with a DUI but your blood alcohol content is 0.10 percent or higher, you can be charged with a High BAC DUI. The penalties are greater for this offense because the level of impairment is much higher. These consequences include the following:

  • Incarceration for up to 30 days
  • Driver’s license suspension for 7-12 months
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and 6-12 months after license restoration

Under 21 DUI

If you have been charged with driving under the influence but you are under the legal drinking age of 21, the penalties are significant. New Jersey will issue a DUI charge if your blood alcohol content is 0.01 percent or higher. This can result in a drivers’ license suspension between 30 and 90 days, as well as 15-30 days of community service, fees, and programs at the IDRC.

Contact a New Jersey DUI Attorney

If you have been charged with a DUI in New Jersey, it is critical that you consult with an experienced defense attorney who can explore all potential means of clearing your name. The legal team at Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC has years of experience representing clients throughout Camden County who have been charged with a DUI. If you need a legal team that has the skill necessary to explore all possible defenses in your DUI case, contact our firm today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What are the Penalties for Drug DWIs in New Jersey?
  •  What are the Consequences of a Marijuana-Related Offense in New Jersey?
  •  New Jersey Changes DWI Law For First-Time Offenders