In New Jersey, it is illegal to operate a vehicle while under the influence (DUI) of illegal substances. The penalties for DUI are serious as you may face an array of fines, license suspension, required installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), enrollment in an alcohol education program, and even jail time. However, depending on whether this is your first DUI conviction and what your documented BAC is, it will reflect the severity of your penalties. Essentially, the higher the BAC, the more severe the penalties. In New Jersey, you can face jail time for a first-offense DUI. In the unfortunate event that you have been charged with a first-offense DUI, please read on and contact a trusted Camden County DUI Attorney who can help you navigate your legal options and defend your rights.
Can I be sent to jail for a first-offense DUI in New Jersey?
If you are operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above you are considered to be driving while under the influence (DUI) of illegal substances. DUI convictions carry strict penalties that can negatively impact your life. In New Jersey, the potential penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC between 0.08% and 0.10% may include:
- Fines between $250 and $400
- Various court fees and surcharges
- Possible 3-month license revocation
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
- License suspension until an IID is installed in your vehicle
- Enrollment in an alcohol education program (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center) between 12 and 48 hours
- Up to 30 days in jail
In New Jersey, you can be sentenced to serve jail time for a first-offense DUI. As mentioned above, the penalties for a DUI conviction range in severity depending on your BAC. If you had a documented BAC between 0.10% and 0.15% you will face more severe consequences for your reckless driving behavior.
What if I am under the age of 21?
New Jersey follows a zero-tolerance policy which essentially means the law does not tolerate underage drinking and driving. In the U.S., the legal drinking age to purchase, possess, and consume alcohol is 21. If you operate a vehicle under the age of 21 with a BAC of 0.01% you will be charged with DUI. The consequences of violating the zero-tolerance policy are serious. The zero-tolerance policy stipulates that operating a vehicle with any trace of alcohol in your system will result in driver’s license suspension, community service, alcohol education programs, and various fines and fees. However, if this is your first-offense underage DUI conviction and your BAC is 0.08% or greater you will face harsher penalties. This is because if your BAC is 0.08% or greater you can be charged as an adult which means you could face jail time.
If you or someone you love has been charged with a first-offense DUI, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with one of our determined and adept attorneys who can help represent your interests in court today.