Burglary vs Robbery in New Jersey | What is the Difference?

Burglary and robbery are two very serious crimes. Read on to learn more about the differences between the two crimes and the penalties they carry in New Jersey.

How is burglary defined in New Jersey?

To be convicted of burglary in New Jersey, you must be guilty of trespassing. Trespassing refers to the act of entering a structure or research facility without permission–while either committing or having the intent to commit a crime within that building. The term “structure” is broad and can cover rooms, buildings, ships, tents, airplanes, vehicles, or any other place adapted for sleeping or business.

What are the consequences of burglary?

New Jersey courts will upgrade your burglary charge to aggravated burglary if you are found guilty of either inflicting or threatening to inflict bodily injury on another person while in the act of committing a burglary. You may also be charged with aggravated burglary if you are either armed with or appear to be armed with an explosive device or deadly weapon. If you are convicted of burglary:

  • You can face up to 5 years in prison, on top of a $15,000 fine.
  • If you are convicted of aggravated burglary, you may face up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines.

How is robbery defined in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, robbery is defined as doing any of the following in the course of committing a theft crime:

  • Inflicting bodily injury upon another person
  • Threatening bodily injury upon another person
  • Committing or saying that you are going to commit either a first or second-degree crime during the course of a theft.

What are the consequences of robbery?

If you are convicted of armed robbery in New Jersey, you are facing a wide array of very serious penalties. The potential consequences of an armed robbery charge in New Jersey are as follows:

  • First-Degree Armed Robbery: You may go to prison for anywhere between 10 and 20 years, and you may also have to pay up to a $200,000 fine.
  • Second-Degree Robbery: You may go to prison for anywhere between 5-10 years, and you may also have to pay a fine of up to $150,000.

If you are facing charges for either burglary or robbery, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Reach out to our firm today to discuss your case.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC is an experienced Camden County criminal defense law firm located in Mt. Ephraim, New Jersey. We understand how potentially damaging a criminal can be, which is why we pride ourselves on our willingness to fight for our client’s rights. Our firm handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Do not hesitate to contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  Why Might a DUI Breath Test Be Wrong in New Jersey?
  •  What is New Jersey’s Implied Consent Law?
  •  Why Should I Avoid Social Media After a DUI in New Jersey?