4th of July DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

When you think of the 4th of July, you likely think of pool parties, barbecues, and fireworks. Often, these holiday parties involve alcohol. Unfortunately, these holiday weekends are notorious for drunk driving. If you received a DWI this 4th of July, it is important to understand the penalties you may face as a result. Read on to learn more about DWIs in New Jersey.

What are the penalties for a 4th of July DWI?

DWI charges are tiered. This means that your penalties will depend upon your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and your prior charges. If this is your first offense, and you have a BAC of .08-.09%, you will face:

  • A license forfeiture of 30 days
  • Will will have to spend up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
  • You may face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $500 fine
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 3 and 6 months, at your own cost

What are the penalties for a second DWI?

If you are charged with a DWI for the second time, you will be seen as a repeat offender, and your penalties will increase. These penalties may include:

  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You will face a $1,000 fine
  • You will most likely have to pay a $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You will have to install and use an ignition interlock device, at your own cost
  • You may lose your license for 2 years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the New Jersey IDRC

What are the penalties for a third DWI?

A third DWI can have a major impact on your life, including jail time, a suspended license, and more:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • $100 fine to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 fine to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • You may go to jail for 90 days
  • You may lose your license for two years
  • You may have to spend up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • The use of the ignition interlock device, at your own cost

What do I do if I am facing DWI charges?

If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, it is important that you work with an experienced criminal defense attorney. A skilled attorney will work to have your charges reduced or even dropped. There are numerous defenses when it comes to DWI charges, including illegal stops and more.

Contact our firm today to discuss your case. The sooner you reach out, the sooner we can begin building your defense.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Thomas DeMarco & Associates, LLC handles all criminal matters and is ready to provide you with our knowledgeable legal counsel. Contact our firm to discuss your legal situation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What do I do if I am Falsely Accused of a Crime in New Jersey?
  •  What to Know About Robbery Charges in New Jersey
  •  Driving With a Suspended License in New Jersey | What to Know